Sketchup gossip

Any article related to design of woodworking projects

Sketchup gossip

Postby loyd » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:59 am

Has anyone done a recent download from the new Sketchup developer since the change from Google? Wood has an article on it this month. I haven't had a notice or anything from them in a long time. I'm still using SketchUp 8 with the funny red icon and it works but I'm wondering if the new guy has fixed any of the bugs.
Loyd -- Administrator
loyd

Re: Sketchup gossip

Postby southpaw57 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 10:15 am

I am in need of a Cad progam that will run on 8.1 OS. What is the learning curve on Sketchup? Remember, I am getting older and slower. ;)
southpaw57

Postby loyd » Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:35 am

Actually Sketchup isn't very hard to learn if you FIRST unlearn and forget everything you ever learned about previous CAD programs. It's a different beast. Once you get past the fundamentals, it's pretty intuitive. I'm just a novice and don't know a lot of the nuances, but I'll be glad to help get you started if you wish. BTW, Old is good and Olde is better. :)

Another BTW. It works good on Win 8.1 :roll:

Another BTW: There are free online tutorials.
Loyd -- Administrator
loyd

Postby southpaw57 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:14 pm

Is there an auto dimensioning thingy?
southpaw57

Postby loyd » Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:19 pm

You can manually attach dimensions but to my knowledge there isn't an auto dimensioning function; at least not on the FREE version. It may be on the PRO version but I don't know.